Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)

Written By Gautham Krishna   | Published on May 20, 2019

Quick Links

Name of the Service Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)
Department Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology
Beneficiaries Citizens of India
Application Type Offline

Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyaan is the scheme to make six crore persons in rural areas, across States/UTs, digitally literate, reaching around 40% of rural households by covering one member from every eligible household by 31st March 2020.

Benefits of Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)

The Scheme would empower the citizens in rural areas by training them to operate computers or digital access devices (like tablets, smartphones etc.), send and receive e-mails, browse the Internet, access Government services, search for information, undertake digital payments etc. and hence enable them to use the Information Technology and related applications, especially Digital Payments to actively participate in the process of nation-building. The Scheme aims to bridge the digital divide, specifically targeting the rural population including the marginalised sections of society like Scheduled Castes (SC) / Scheduled Tribes (ST), Minorities, Below Poverty Line (BPL), women and differently-abled persons and minorities. To register as a candidate the applicant must perform the electronic KYC and agrees to term and condition. Candidate data will be shared with the examination agencies for certification purposes and with the training centre for training purposes.

To make a person digitally literate, so that he/she can operate digital devices (like Tablets, Smartphones etc) send and receive emails & browse the Internet for information and undertake digital payment etc.

Eligibility Criteria of Pradhan Mantri Gramin Digital Saksharta Abhiyan (PMGDISHA)

  • Nominated digitally illiterate person from every eligible rural household.

  • Age should be between 14 to 60 years

Course Details

  • 20 Hours (Minimum 10 Days and Maximum 30 Days)

  • The medium of Instruction will be the Official Languages of India

  • The course is free of charge

  • Place of Learning: the eligible households can nominate one person from their family. The selected person to get themselves enrolled under this programme in the nearest Training Centre/ Common Service Centre (CSC).

  • Evaluation: Independent external evaluation will be conducted by a National level certifying agency like NIELIT, NIOS, IGNOU, HKCL, ICTACT, NIESBUD etc.


The scheme will be implemented by CSC e-Governance Services India Limited, a Special Purpose Vehicle (SPV) incorporated under the Companies Act 1956, (herein referred to as “CSC-SPV”), under the overall supervision of the Ministry of Electronics & Information Technology, with the active collaboration of all the State Governments and UT Administrations.

NGOs, Industry, Government-authorized centres, Common Services Centres (CSCs) and authorized educational institutions with appropriate infrastructure will be utilised to train and empower 6 Crore citizens on Digital literacy in Gram Panchayat and Districts of each State/ UT. The training will be held at various training locations including CSCs, Adult Literacy Centres, NIELIT Centres, RSETI, NGOs involved in IT Literacy, etc.

Application Process

  • CSC-SPV will identify the beneficiaries in active collaboration with the District e-Governance Society (DeGS), Gram Panchayats, and Block Development Officers. The list of such beneficiaries would be made available on the scheme portal.

  • All CSCs can register and train candidates from a specified area of Gram Panchayat /District of the country as per the prescribed eligibility criteria.

  • Eligible person to be enrolled in the nearest PMGDISHA training Centre using their Aadhaar (UIDAI) number.

  • Unique Username and Password to be provided to the beneficiary.

  • Learners to study the self-learning e-modules through the LMS.

  • Continuous assessment at the end of each module.

  • Attendance daily using Aadhaar number.

  • On fulfilling the minimum number of learning hours and successful completion of the assessment, the learners will be eligible to appear for a Real-time examination process in collaboration with nationally recognized Certifying Agencies namely the National Institute of Electronics and Information Technology (NIELIT), National Institute of Open Schooling (NIOS), ICT Academy of Tamil Nadu (ICTACT), Haryana Knowledge Corporation Limited (HKCL), National Institute for Entrepreneurship and Small Business Development (NIESBUD).

  • Certificates will be issued to successful candidates.

  • Training costs to the training agencies would be released by CSC-SPV only after successful certification of the candidates subject to meeting the prescribed outcome criteria.

Related Links


What are some common queries related to Government Schemes?
You can find a list of common Government Schemes queries and their answer in the link below.
Government Schemes queries and its answers
Where can I get my queries related to Government Schemes answered for free?
Tesz is a free-to-use platform for citizens to ask government-related queries. Questions are sent to a community of experts, departments and citizens to answer. You can ask the queries here.
Ask Question